Judicial…Review

I am slightly worried about President Obama’s choice of Sonia Sotomayor for the Supreme Court.

First, she is from New York.  New Yorkers in my experience wear UGGS. Yeah, I’ve heard that they are ridiculoulsy warm and cozy, but they still make you look silly.

Second, just as a common citizen I am concerned with judicial expansion, much more so when the candidate in question admits she thinks policy is made in the judiciary.

Now, I have seen the footage, and it doesn’t seem that bad.   After all I wasn’t there and don’t know the context.  However, it is important to remind the masses that the Supreme Court reviews the constitutionality–whether they are in accord with the Constitution–of laws.  It does not propose them.

Great.  Now that that is out of the way, let the confirmation circus begin!

2 Responses to Judicial…Review

  1. neelyelizabeth says:

    I’ve heard a lot of criticisms of Sotomayor, including that she is a “reserve racist” (what does that even mean, Rush?) and that she is too incompetent to provide effective counter arguments to conservative opponents. I also personally believe she probably wears UGGS–probably the knitted kind that aren’t horrible, but still.

    I went to Wikipedia to find some info on her rulings: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sonia_Sotomayor#Federal_judicial_service

    Scroll down to the bottom where it talks about her rulings.

    Now, I know I don’t know a lot about politics, especially judicial politics, but I can’t say that a lot of her rulings seem that liberal or incompetent to me. For example, she upheld New York’s right to ban nunchakus (which I always thought were spelled numchucks), giving more power to the state. That seems okay with me. I wonder how that influences her view on gay marriage. Hopefully she would agree that it is certainly not a matter for the federal government to decide.

    I guess we will just have to wait and see.

    • travis87r says:

      Thanks for the comment.

      I agree that she does not seem too incompetent or liberal. After all both presidents H.W. Bush, and Bill Clinton nominated her for judicial positions. However, as with most things in the Obama administration, she remains something of an unknown. She has a few statements which garnish worry on the conservative side, but then some decisions–like you point out– that are pro-state’s rights or pro-business.

      We will have to wait and see indeed.

Leave a Reply

